I watched X-Men: The Animated Series without knowing Magneto's LONG history. It turned out that the original X-Men was in the 1960s -- meaning Haim Saban's famous TV series was decades after the original. It turned out that Magneto's original group was called the Brotherhood of EVIL Mutants -- a group of mutant supremacists. Magneto was just a dark mirror to Professor Xavier during the earlier days of the X-Men. Magneto existed as a Social Darwinist as well. This was the Silver Age comics when most villains were pretty much one dimensional.
It can be noticed that Magneto had his "deepening" with Chris Claremont in the 1980s It can be noticed that Magneto went from a one-dimensional villain to having a deeper background. Magneto was later revealed ot the survivor of the Holocaust in the Second World War.
It can be noticed that Magneto had his "deepening" with Chris Claremont in the 1980s It can be noticed that Magneto went from a one-dimensional villain to having a deeper background. Magneto was later revealed ot the survivor of the Holocaust in the Second World War.
Any backstory given to Magneto feels too random at times. For example, the famous revelation (decades later) that he was secretly the father of Quicksilver and Scarlet Witch (until the infamous Disney tantrum) as well as Polaris. Honestly though, I wish Polaris was really Magneto's firstborn. Magneto started to go into a possible path of redemption from hammy villain (1960s) to the more sympathetic antihero (discovering he survived the Jewish Holocaust) who just wanted ot help mutantkind. However, we can't deny the abuse Magneto did to his OG Brotherhood which is both inexcusable for him AND THE WRITERS.
Magneto went from villain (1960s was just a crazy mutant supremacist) to anti-villain to anti-hero. What can never be denied is that Magneto had an identity crisis. Magneto has become an on/off ally of the X-Men. What even becomes more annoying is that the "best way" to explain things away is either through a human imposter (ex. Xorn) or the lame Magneto Robot. In short, writers never knew what they wanted to do with Magneto. Even worse, some writers just go into the seemingly never ending cyce of FIX AND RUIN more often than not.
A shame really that Magneto has been one of my favorite villains in the 1990s. He was this hard to understand anti-villain in X-Men: The Animated Series or the X-Men live-action movies before the SH*TTY revisted timeline. It made me think that Magneto's 1960s self couldv'e been "written off" entirely or that Marvel could've done that some companies do -- RETCON OUT AN ERROR IF NEED BE.


Comments
Post a Comment